There are multiple ways to obtain an accident report in Florida, depending on your location, the agency, among other factors. Here’s everything you need to learn about obtaining Florida accident reports online in Orlando and the entire Sunshine State.
Who can access an accident report in Florida?
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) is the agency in charge of statewide accident data collection and dissemination. To obtain this report in Florida, you’ll first need to consider the exact date of the crash.
This information helps determine whether the accident is readily available to the public or restricted only to individuals involved and mentioned in the crash report. According to Florida law, crash reports containing the personal information of the parties involved in the crash remain confidential for 60 days after the filing date.
During the first 60 days after filing the crash report, only individuals mentioned or involved in the crash can access this information. After 60 days, the crash report is considered a public report, hence available to the public upon request.
How to access an accident report in Florida
Head over to the official website of the FLHSMV, and read the requirements to obtain this information. The website provides more information on the 60-day rule, stating that it’s a felony to obtain information you’re not entitled to.
You’ll also need to pay a non-refundable $10 fee per report and an extra $2 as convenience fee for each transaction. In addition, you can only request up to 10 reports per transaction.
What you need to obtain a FL crash report
To obtain a crash report in Florida via the FLHSMV website, you’ll need;
- Your state-issued ID or driver’s license
- Date and time of the accident,
- Location of the accident
- Name of individuals involved
It’s important to note that these requirements change quite often. For this reason, make sure you have as much information about the accident as you can.
How long does it take to obtain an accident report online in Florida?
The reports are available online immediately and must be downloaded within 48 hours via the download link sent to the email address provided at the time of the request. The crash report will be issued as a ZIP file, usually containing PDF files.
How soon are crash reports available in Florida?
It takes up to 10 days for law enforcement agencies, such as the Florida highway patrol, to submit crash reports to the FLHSMV. The agency doesn’t provide live crash reports FL, so if you request the report earlier than ten days, chances are it won’t be available.
How to request a traffic crash report in Orlando
If the crash occurred in Orlando, you could request a copy online via the City of Orlando website. However, you must meet the following eligibility requirements for this to work.
- Be the driver or named on the report as an individual involved in the crash.
- The crash must have occurred no later than 2011.
- The crash must have occurred within the City of Orlando.
Orlando car accident reports are usually available online within 3 to 5 business days. To obtain these reports, you’ll also need the following:
- Case number
- Date of crash
- Driver’s name
A non-refundable fee of $10 will be charged; be sure to have a credit or debit card with you when requesting the crash report. However, driver’s exchange reports for minor accidents are free.
How a car accident attorney can help
Crash reports usually contain vital information that could come in handy when negotiating a reasonable settlement for your injuries. If you’re not sure where to start with requesting a car accident report in Orlando or any other location in Florida, talk to an experienced car accident attorney.